Results, Ridings & Candidates

Kootenay West

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 111/111 polls
NDP Katrine Conroy 11,632 Elected
LIB Brenda Binnie 3,881
GRN Andy Morel 1,692
COM Zachary Eric Crispin 195

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,686 votes | 44.04%

9,768 votes | 55.96%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

111/111 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding in southern BC which has border with the U.S. as southern boundary.
  • Population centred in Trail, Rossland and Castlegar in southern part of riding.
  • Also in riding are Slocan, Silverton, New Denver and Nakusp all along Highways 6 and 23.
  • Manufacturing is main industry.


  • Riding created in 2008 redistribution from: 72% West Kootenay-Boundary; 19% Nelson-Creston.

Political History

  • Rossland-Trail: New Democrat Ed Conroy won in 1991 and in 1996 by 2,712 votes; served as Minister of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries and Minister responsible for Rural Development.
  • West Kootenay-Boundary: In 2001, Liberal Sandy Santori defeated Conroy, incumbent from Rossland-Trail, by 3,869 votes; appointed Minister of Management Services on June 5, 2001; Minister of State for Resource Developmenton January 26, 2004.
  • On January 11, 2005, he announced that he was resigning for health reasons and would take a job in February as general manager of Rossland-Trail Country Club; on January 31, 2005 he left the Legislature.
  • In 2005, New Democrat Katrine Conroy defeated Liberal Pam Lewin by 7,138 votes.