Results, Ridings & Candidates

Delta South

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 117/117 polls
LIB Wally Oppal 9,619 Elected
IND Vicki Huntington 9,617
NDP Dileep Joseph Anthony Athaide 2,801
GRN Duane Laird 510
IND John William Shavluk 58

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





7,763 votes | 35.26%

14,252 votes | 64.74%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

117/117 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Affluent, largely middle class riding in Lower Mainland which takes in that part of Delta west of Highway 91.
  • Boundary Bay and U.S. border form southern boundary.
  • Highway 17, which runs north to south in riding, leads to the Tsawwassen ferry terminal and Delta Port-Roberts Bank.
  • Riding includes Tsawwassen IR, Musqueam IR4, BC Ferries terminal, Fraser Riverfront and Pacific Oceanfront, Tsawwassen Ferry Terminal, Boundary Bay Airport, Roberts Bank Coal Port.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from major part of Delta. In 2000, kept almost 100%.
  • No change in 2008 redistribution.

Political History

  • Delta South: In 1991, Liberal Fred Gingell defeated Social Credit John Savage.
  • In 1996, Gingell defeated New Democrat Lloyd MacDonald by 7,431 votes but died on July 6, 1999.
  • In December 7, 1999 byelection, Liberal Val Roddick defeated Reform candidate Bill Vander Zalm by 4,740 votes.
  • In 2001, Roddick defeated Green candidate Rob La Belle by 10,946 votes.
  • In 2005, Roddick defeated independent Vicki Huntington by 1,069 votes.
  • Roddick announced in June, 2008 that she wouldn't be running again.