Results, Ridings & Candidates

Coquitlam-Burke Mountain

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 123/123 polls
LIB Douglas Horne 8,168 Elected
NDP Heather McRitchie 5,031
GRN Jared Evans 858
LTN Paul Geddes 254

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





4,767 votes | 34.20%

9,171 votes | 65.80%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

123/123 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding stretches north along the Port Moody-Coquitlam border and Indian Arm/Indian River in west and along Pitt Lake and Pitt River in east. Coquitlam Lake is in the middle of the riding. Pitt Lake IR4 is in SE.
  • SW part of riding contains northern part of City of Coquitlam - area north of CP line/Westwood St. Border in SE is border with Port Coquitlam.
  • In 2006 census, immigration population was 48.6%. 19% gave Chinese as mother tongue; 6.5% gave Korean.
  • Visible minority population was 49% - 24% Chinese and 7% Korean.


  • Coquitlam-Burke Mountain was created in 2008 redistribution from: 56% Port Moody-Westwood; 9% Coquitlam-Maillardville; 7% Port Coquitlam-Burke Mountain.

Political History

  • Port Moody-Westwood: In 2001, Liberal Christy Clark (incumbent from Port Moody-Burnaby Mountain) won here by 12,322; appointed Minister of Education and Deputy Premier on June 5, 2001; appointed Minister of Children and Family Development and Deputy Premier on January 26, 2004; left Cabinet and said she wouldn't be running again in Septmeber 2004.
  • In 2005, Liberal Iain Black defeated New Democrat Karen Rockwell by 4,313 votes; appointed Minister of Labour and Citizens' Services on June 23, 2008.