Results, Ridings & Candidates

Comox Valley

2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 166/166 polls
LIB Don McRae 13,016 Elected
NDP Leslie McNabb 11,593
GRN Hazel Lennox 2,338
BCR Paula Berard 250
PF Barbara Biley 110

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





11,121 votes | 41.62%

15,600 votes | 58.38%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

166/166 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding is on central-east coast of Vancouver Island on Strait of Georgia.
  • It includes Cumberland, Courtenay, Comox, Campbell River, Denman and Hornby Islands as well as CFB Comox, Mount Washington ski resort and Comox IR1.


  • Riding created in 1989 redistribution from part of Comox riding.
  • In 2000 redistribution, kept most of existing riding.
  • No change in 2008 redistribution.

Political History

  • Comox: New Democrat Karen Sanford won in 1972, 1975, 1979 and 1983.
  • In 1986, Social Credit Stan Hagan defeated Sanford by 2,271 votes; served as Minister of Advanced Education and Job Training, Minister of State for Van Island/Coast, Minister responsible for Science and Technology, Minister of Regional and Economic Development and Minister of Education.
  • Comox Valley: New Democrat Margaret Lord won in 1991, Hagen was 3rd.
  • New Democrat Evelyn Gillespie won in 1996; served as Minister of Women's Equality.
  • She was the subject of two recall petitions in 1998 - one failed and one was withdrawn.
  • In 2001, Now Liberal Hagen defeated Gillespie by 10,213 votes; appointed Minister of Sustainable Resource Management on June 5, 2001; Minister of Human Resources on January 26, 2004; Minister of Children and Family Development on September 20, 2004; Minister of Tourism, Sport and the Arts on August 15, 2006.
  • In 2005, Hagen defeated New Democrat Andrew Black by 807 votes; was reappointed Minister of Children and Family Development on June 16, 2005; Minister of Agriculture and Lands on June 23, 2008.
  • Hagen died of heart attack on January 20, 2009.