Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 115/115 polls
LIB Barry Penner 8,717 Elected
NDP Gwen O'Mahony 5,432
CON Hans Mulder 1,157
GRN Guy Durnin 903
PF Dorothy-Jean O'Donnell 88

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





5,088 votes | 32.02%

10,801 votes | 67.98%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

115/115 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Fraser Valley riding, on B.C./U.S. border, which contains eastern part of Chillliwack in SE corner.
  • Riding runs north to Mehatl Creek Provincial Park and includes Harrison Hot Springs, Hope, Agassiz, Kent and over 30 native reserves including Chehalis IR 5 and 6, Soowahlie IR14 and Grass IR5.
  • CFB Chilliwack, Ford Mountain and Mount Thurston Correctional Centres and Kent Institution are in the riding.
  • In 2006 census, the aboriginal population was 11%.


  • Riding was created in 2008 redistribution from 51% Chilliwack-Kent; 22% Yale-Lillooet; 17% Chilliwack-Sumas; 1% West Vancouver-Garibaldi; 1% Maple Ridge-Mission.

Political History

  • Chilliwack: In 1986, Social Credit John Jansen defeated New Democrat Scott Fast by 6,212 votes; served as Minister of International Business and Immigration; Minister of Health & Seniors.
  • In 1991, Chisholm defeated Jansen by 982 votes.
  • Chisholm lost Liberal nomination and left Liberal caucus to sit as an independent.
  • In 1996, Liberal Barry Penner defeated New Democrat Rollie Keith; Chisholm was third.
  • Chilliwack-Kent: In 2001, Liberal Barry Penner defeated New Democrat Malcolm James by 11,659 votes.
  • In 2005, Penner again defeated James, this time by 4,834 votes. Appointed as Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for Water Stewardship and Sustainable Communities June 16, 2005.