Results, Ridings & Candidates


2009 Results

Party Candidate Votes Status
Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT 125/125 polls
LIB John Les 7,782 Elected
NDP Mason Goulden 5,556
CON Benjamin Besler 2,529
GRN Fraea Bolding 1,419

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections B.C.

View these results in the interactive map »

STV referendum results in this riding

Question: Which electoral system should British Columbia use to elect members to the provinical Legislative Assembly?

  • The existing system (First-Past-the-Post)
  • The single transferable vote electorial system (BC-STV) proposed by the Citizens' Assembly on Electoral Reform





5,308 votes | 31.58%

11,500 votes | 68.42%

Updated: May. 13, 2009 1:16 AM PDT

125/125 polls reporting

What it needs to win:

For the referendum to be binding, the approval level must be:

  1. at least 60% of the total popular vote, province-wide, AND
  2. more than 50% of the votes in at least 51 of the province's 85 electoral districts.

If the two thresholds are met, government is required to introduce legislation to implement BC-STV in sufficient time for it to be in place for the May 2013 General Election.


  • Riding, containing western part of District Municipality of Chilliwack, is bounded by Fraser River in north and part of the west; remainder of west boundary is Sumas River/Vedder River/Boundary Road.
  • Eastern boundary is Jesperson Rd/Reevers Rd/Yale Rd E./Prest Rd/South Sumas Rd/Lickman Road.
  • Trans-Canada Highway slices through the middle dividing the northern and southern parts of the riding.
  • Chilliwack airport and 10 native reserves are in the riding - aboriginal population in 2006 census was 7%.
  • In 2006 census, population over age 65 was 18%.


  • Riding was created in 2008 redistribution from 47% Chilliwack-Sumas and 49% Chilliwack-Kent.

Political History

  • Chilliwack: In 1991, Liberal Robert Chisholm defeated Social Credit John Jansen by 982 votes.
  • Chisholm lost Liberal nomination and left Liberal caucus to sit as an independent.
  • In 1996, Liberal Barry Penner defeated New Democrat Rollie Keith; Chisholm was third.
  • Chilliwack-Sumas: In 2001, Liberal John Les defeated New Democrat Christine Muise by 11,703 votes; was appointed Minister of Small Business and Economic Development on January 26, 2004.
  • In 2005, Liberal Les defeated New Democrat John-Henry Harter by 5,518 votes; was appointed Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General June 16, 2005; resigned from cabinet pending outcome of an investigation into his conduct while he was mayor of Chilliwack on March 18, 2008.