What You Are

A short story collection by M.G. Vassanji.

M.G. Vassanji

Weaving between wistful memories of youthful ambition and the compromises and comforts of age, travelling between the streets of Dar es Salaam and Toronto, the characters in these stories must negotiate distance — between here and there; between lives imagined and lives lived; between expectation and disappointment; between inclusion and exclusion.

Throughout, Vassanji engages passionately with the intellectual and political questions that inspire him as a writer and a citizen, while always matching the energy of his ideas with the empathy and emotional depth he invests in his characters. As with all Vassanji's finest work, What You Are stands as a model of artistic integrity and clarity of vision. (From Doubleday Canada)

What You Are is available in May 2021.

M.G. Vassanji is an author from Toronto. He has published short stories, novels, memoir and biography. He has won the Scotiabank Giller Prize twice: in 1994 for The Book of Secrets and in 2003 for The In-Between World of Vikram Lall. He is a member of the Order of Canada and has been awarded several honorary doctorates. His novel Nostalgia was defended on Canada Reads 2017 by Jody Mitic.

Interviews with M.G Vassanji

In 1994, author M. G. Vassanji shared about his former life as a nuclear physicist


4 years ago
In this video from the CBC Archives, M. G. Vassanji talks about his transition from science to literature, and his desire to document history through fiction. 1:19

Other books by M.G. Vassanji

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now