Watch the 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist announcement

Which books will be nominated for the $100,000 prize? Find out on Tuesday, Sept. 8 at 10 a.m. ET!

UPDATE: The longlist has been revealed. See it here.

Which books will be nominated for the 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize? Find out on Tuesday, Sept. 8 at 10 a.m. ET! 

Ian Williams, who won the 2019 prize for his novel Reproduction, is hosting the announcement.

The $100,000 annually recognizes the best in Canadian fiction.

This year's prize is being judged by Canadian lawyer and nonfiction writer Mark Sakamoto, Canadian novelists Eden RobinsonDavid Chariandy and Tom Rachman, and British literary critic Claire Armitstead.

The shortlist will be announced on Oct. 5, 2020. The winner will be announced on Nov. 9, 2020.

Past Giller Prize winners include Esi Edugyan for Washington BlackMichael Redhill for Bellevue SquareMargaret Atwood for Alias GraceMordecai Richler for Barney's VersionAlice Munro for RunawayAndré Alexis for Fifteen Dogs and Madeleine Thien for Do Not Say We Have Nothing.

Earlier in 2020, the Giller Foundation, which is responsible for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, made $25,000 donations to the Indigenous Literary Studies Association (ILSA) and to Diaspora Dialogues

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?