True Stories

This collection of poetry by Margaret Atwood was published in 1981.

Margaret Atwood

True Stories was released in 1981. The collection explores the nature of poetry itself, as well as war, torture and larger themes of crimes and collective horror.

Read an excerpt | Author interviews

From the book

Mouth to mouth

I'm bringing you back to life.

Why did you drown like that

without telling?

What numbed you? What

rose over your head

was gradual and only

everybody's air,

standard & killing.

Your head floats on your hand,

on water, you turn

over, your heart returns

unsteadily to its two strong notes.

I'm bringing you back

to life, it's mutual.

From True Stories by Margaret Atwood ©1981. Published by Oxford University Press.

Author interviews

The "Quiet Mata Hari" talks about her nickname and her latest collection of poems, The Animals of That Country. 3:48