Tracey Lindberg, Michael Christie & Christy Ann Conlin to judge 2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

Finalists for the $25,000 prize will be announced on Sept. 27, 2017.
(From left): Novelists Tracey Lindberg, Michael Christie and Christy Ann Conlin will judge the 2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. (Dave Weatherall/Michael Christie/Bruce Dienes)

Tracey Lindberg, Michael Christie and Christy Ann Conlin comprise the three-person jury for the 2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, an annual $25,000 award given to the best novel or short story collection of the year.

The 2016 prize was won by Yasuko Thanh for her book Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains.

The three members of this year's jury have appeared on various CanLit prize shortlists in recent years.

Lindberg is a lawyer and novelist; her debut Birdie was nominated for the Kobo Emerging Writer Award and was featured on Canada Reads in 2016, where it was defended by entrepreneur Bruce Poon Tip.

Christie's most recent novel is If I Fall, If I Diewhich was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize in 2015.

The Galiano, B.C.-based writer is also the author of the short story collection The Beggar's Garden, a finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize in 2011.

Conlin's first book Heave, published in 2002, was a finalist for the First Novel Award, Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award and Dartmouth Book Award. The Wolfville, N.S. resident's most recent book is The Memento.

The finalists for the 2017 prize will be announced on Sept. 27, 2017, with the winners following on Nov. 14, 2017.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.