Thomas King among writers longlisted for 2020 League of Canadian Poets awards

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, Pat Lowther Memorial Award and Raymond Souster Award, each worth $2,000, celebrate the best in Canadian poetry.
77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin is a poetry collection by Thomas King. (HarperCollins Canada)

Thomas King is among the writers longlisted for the League of Canadian Poets' 2020 poetry awards.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, Pat Lowther Memorial Award and Raymond Souster Award, each worth $2,000, celebrate the best in Canadian poetry.

The prizes were created by the League of Canadian Poets, a national nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting poets and poetry in Canada.

King is a finalist for the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award for 77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin, his first poetry collection. The celebrated Canadian author, who has written mysteries, memoirs and novels, wrote 77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin to celebrate turning 77 years old.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award recognizes the best debut book of poetry.

Alessandra Naccarato, the winner of the 2017 CBC Poetry Prize, is nominated for both the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award and the Pat Lowther Memorial Award for her collection Re-Origin of Species.

Re-Origin of Species features the winning poem, Postcards for my Sister.

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award recognizes a collection of poetry by a Canadian woman while the Raymond Souster Award recognizes the best book of poetry overall published by a member of the League.

Also nominated is 2019 Griffin Poetry Prize winner Billy-Ray Belcourt. Belcourt is a finalist for the Raymond Souster Award for his sophomore poetry collection, NDN Coping Mechanisms.

Belcourt won the Griffin Poetry Prize for his first poetry collection, This Wound is a WorldHis memoir, A History of My Brief Body, is coming out in May 2020. 

The three longlists were revealed on April 6, 2020. 

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award was created in 1981. This year's jury features Anna Yin, Ben Ladouceur and Robin Richardson. 

The 2020 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award longlist includes:

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award has been awarded annually since 1981. This year's jury includes Annick MacAskill, Billeh Nickerson and Soraya Peerebaye.

The 2020 Pat Lowther Memorial Award longlist includes

The Raymond Souster Award was established in 2013. This year's jury is made up of Jim Johnston, Suzanne Zelazo and Randy Lundy.

The 2020 Raymond Souster Award longlist includes: 

The shortlisted titles for all three awards will be revealed on April 20, 2020.

The winners will be announced on May 29, 2020.


Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.