Books·Canadian

The Everlasting Road

A novel by Wab Kinew.

Wab Kinew

The illustrated book cover for The Everlasting Road is of a young Indigenous woman in a black hoodie with a stripe of red paint across her eyes as she holds up a wooden weapon in her right hand. The Northern Lights are behind her.

The boundaries between the virtual and the real world become dangerously blurred for a young Indigenous girl in the follow-up to the YA fantasy debut Walking in Two Worlds from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

Devastated by the loss of her beloved older brother to cancer, Bugz returns to the place where she can always find solace and strength: the Floraverse. Over the past year, she has gained back all that she had lost in that virtual world, and while the remaining ClanLess members still plot against her, she is easily able to overcome their attacks. Even better, she's been secretly working on a bot that will be both an incredible weapon and a source of comfort: Waawaate.

With the Waawaate bot looking exactly like the brother she misses so much — even acting so much like him — Bugz feels ready to show him off to Feng, who has become a constant companion in the Verse, and she cannot wait to team up with both friend and bot to secure her dominance once and for all. But Feng has his own issues to deal with, especially when news that his parents are alive and want to contact him threatens to send his new life on the Rez into upheaval.

As they work through their complicated feelings of grief and loss, Feng and Bugz find themselves becoming ever closer. But disturbances in the Floraverse cannot be ignored, especially when Bugz realizes that her Waawaate bot is growing in powers beyond her control. (From Tundra Books). 

Based in Winnipeg, Kinew is the leader of the New Democratic Party in Manitoba and an award-winning author. Kinew wrote The Reason You Walk, which is a memoir about mending his relationship with his father before his death, and Go Show the World, a children's picture book about Indigenous heroes throughout history. The Everlasting Road is a follow-up to his debut YA fantasy novel, Walking in Two Worlds

 

A member of the Midewin and an Honorary Witness for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, he is a former hip-hop artist and broadcaster, hosting the CBC series 8th Fire and Canada Reads in 2015. As a panellist on CBC's battle of the books, Kinew won the 2014 edition for his defence of Joseph Boyden's The Orenda.

Interviews with Wab Kinew

Broadcaster, hip-hop artist and Manitoba NDP leader Wab Kinew spoke with Tom Power about his first work of fiction, Walking in Two Worlds. It's a young adult novel that tells the story of an Indigenous teen named Bugz who leads a double life. In the real world she's an ordinary kid, but in the virtual video game world she's a superstar with millions of followers.
Wab Kinew is known to many CBC fans for his work as a journalist, a panellist and host of Canada Reads. He has just released his first book; The Reason You Walk is a story of reconciliation between a father and son.
It's the most wonderful time of the year — for book lovers. Get ready for another exciting round of Canada Reads!

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now

now