Téa Mutonji, Amy Jones and Doretta Lau to jury $10K Journey Prize for short stories

The annual prize is awarded to the best in Canadian magazine-published short fiction.
Amy Jones, Téa Mutonji and Doretta Lau will judge the 2020 Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize. (Jason Spun/Spun Creative, Sandro Pehar, Ming Kai Leung)

Téa Mutonji, Amy Jones and Doretta Lau will be the jurors for the 2020 The Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize. 

The $10,000 prize is annually awarded to the best in short fiction published in a Canadian magazine. 

The magazine that publishes the winning story receives $2,000.

Mutonji is a poet and fiction writer who published her debut short story collection Shut Up, You're Pretty in 2019. Shut Up, You're Pretty was a finalist for the shortlist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. CBC Books named Mutonji a writer to watch in 2019.

Lau is the author of the short story collection How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun?, which is based on her Journey Prize-shortlisted title story. Her essay At Core We Think They Will Kill Us was on the 2019 CBC Nonfiction Prize longlist

Jones is the author of the novels We're All in This Together, which was a finalist for the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour, and Every Little Piece of Me. She won the 2006 CBC Short Story Prize and was a finalist for the 2005 Bronwen Wallace Award for emerging writers.

The deadline for submissions for the 2020 prize is Feb. 12. The finalists will be announced in the fall.

The Journey Prize has been awarded since 1989.

Angélique Lalonde won in 2019 for Pooka, published by PRISM International, which tells the story of a carpet collector who fails at achieving online fame.

Other past winners include Yann Martel, Anne Carson and Yasuko Thanh.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.