Steven Price, Ivan Coyote and Chantal Gibson among winners of the 2020 BC and Yukon Book Prizes

Established in 1985, the annual awards celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers in a variety of categories.
Steven Price, Ivan Coyote and Chantal Gibson are among the winners of the 2020 BC and Yukon Book Prizes. (McClelland & Stewart, Simon Fraser University, Chantal Gibson)

Steven Price's Lampedusa, Ivan Coyote's Rebent Sinner and Chantal Gibson's How She Read are among the winners of the 2020 BC and Yukon Book Prizes.

The eight prizes recognize the work of British Columbia and Yukon writers and artists across genres including fiction, nonfiction, picture books and more. Each winner will receive $3,000.

Lampedusa won the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize for the best original work of literary fiction.

Lampedusa is a historical novel that fictionalizes the final years of Giuseppe Tomasi, a Sicilian prince who authored the literary masterpiece The Leopard. It was also shortlisted for the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Rebent Sinner won the Jim Deva Prize for Writing That Provokes, which honours an original work that challenges the ideas and forces that shape what writing, art and/or society can become.

The book contains stories from 30 years of Coyote's life, highlighting the joys and hardships of living beyond the gender binary.

How She Read won the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize for the best work of poetry.

The collection of genre-blurring poems about the representation of Black women in Canada was also a finalist for the 2019 Griffin Poetry Prize

Changing Tides by Alejandro Frid won the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize.

Changing Tides looks at humanity's relationship with the environment and brings together science with traditional Indigenous knowledge to see if we can create a better path forward in a time of climate crisis.

Carpe Fin by Michael Nicholl Yahgulanaas won the Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize, which recognizes a book that "contributes to the enjoyment and understanding of B.C."


Set in the near future, Carpe Fin begins as a community grapples with a fuel spill that destroys the marine foods they planned to harvest. With food supplies diminishing, a group of hunters embark on a late season sea lion expedition. An unexpected storm forces the group to abandon a hunter named Carpe on a rock, where he faces an angry Lord of the Rock.

My Body, My Choice: The Fight for Abortion Rights by Robin Stevenson won the Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize for best non-illustrated children's book.

It Began With a Page: How Gyo Fujikawa Drew the Way by Kyo Maclear, illustrated by Julie Morstad won the Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize, for best illustrated children's book.

Vancouver After Dark by Aaron Chapman won the Bill Duthie Booksellers' Choice Award.

Alongside the eight prizes, Cree-Metis writer and illustrator Julie Flett and Obasan author Joy Kogawa were honoured with the Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence. 

Playwrights Patti Flather and Leonard Linklater were named recipients of the Borealis Prize for their contributions to the writing and publishing community in Yukon.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?