Books·Canadian

Stay Where I Can See You

Stay Where I Can See You is a novel by Katrina Onstad.

Katrina Onstad

The Kaplan family has just won 10 million dollars in the lottery. But haven't they always been lucky? Gwen thought so. She's carefully curated a perfect suburban existence with a loving husband and two children. For over a decade, she's been a stay-at-home mom, devoted to giving her kids the quiet, protected adolescence she didn't have. But the surprise windfall suddenly upends the family, allowing them all to dream a little bigger and catapulting them back to the city that Gwen fled years ago.

As the Kaplans navigate the notoriety that the lottery brings and try to adjust to their new lives in the upper class — Seth launches a dubious start-up, Maddie falls headfirst in love at her elite prep school — a tightly held secret is unlocked. Along with the truth come long-buried memories from Gwen's troubled youth, forcing her to confront her painful past and threatening to unravel the incredibly tight bond between her and Maddie. Her meticulously constructed identity as the good wife and mother begins to crack. And when their changed circumstances place her family under threat, Gwen must wake up from her domestic slumber.

For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Liane Moriarty and Zoe Whittall, Katrina Onstad's new novel explores whether our most intimate relationships can survive our most unforgivable actions. Stay Where I Can See You is a penetrating story about the pendulum swing of fortune, the ferocity of mother–daughter devotion and the stories we tell — and withhold — because of love. (From HarperCollins)

Stay Where I Can See You is available in March 2020.

Katrina Onstad is a writer and journalist. Her bestselling novel Everybody Has Everything was nominated for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Toronto Book Award. She is also the author of the nonfiction book The Weekend Effect.

Interviews with Katrina Onstad

She's worried about our weekends, concerned that we forgo our vacation time, and now she's on to how we spend our holidays. Katrina Onstad, journalist and author of The Weekend Effect, spoke to us about how to bring holiday-ing back to the holidays. 8:50
Terminator: Dark Fate has faced some backlash on social media for its cast of strong, female characters. But author, journalist and social commentator Katrina Onstad argues the Terminator films have always been about a woman — Sarah Connor — who challenged the traditional idea of heroism. 7:40
Forget working for the same old weekend. Author Katrina Onstad wants you to strive for a weekend with meaning. 21:37

Other books by Katrina Onstad

Comments

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.