Sophie Bédard among winners of 2021 Doug Wright Awards, which celebrate Canadian comic creators

The winners for the 17th annual Doug Wright Awards were announced the past weekend.

The winners for the 17th annual Doug Wright Awards were announced the past weekend.

Sophie Bédard, who also publishes under the name S. Bédard, is among the winners of the 2021 Doug Wright Awards.

She won the best book category for Lonely Boys.

The awards are named after the late Ontario cartoonist Douglas Austin Wright. Wright wrote the weekly comic strip Doug Wright's Family which ran from 1949 to 1980.

The winners in the four categories will each receive a cash prize along with a trophy.

Lonely Boys is a comic book about friendship, sisterhood and self-affirmation. It captures the lives of three young women as they navigate the challenges of work, sex and romance.

The book also won the Prix Bédélys Québec in 2019.

Bédard is an artist based on Montreal. Prior to Lonely Boys, she launched her breakthrough webcomic Almost Summer as a four-volume print series. 

The other finalists for the 2021 Doug Wright Award for best book were Familiar Face by Michael DeForge and Wendy, Master of Art by Walter Scott.

Veronica Post won The Nipper for her debut graphic novel, Langosh & Peppi: Fugitive Days. The Nipper is an award that recognizes emerging talent. 

Langosh & Peppi: Fugitive Days tells the story of the 2015 European "migrant crisis" in Budapest through the perspective of a vagabond and his dog.

The Noiseless Din by Scott Carruthers won The Pigskin Peters, the award for best small or micro-press book. 

The Noiseless Din is a long-form experimental graphic novel.

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids' book was awarded to A Slug Story by Mandi Kujawa, Hana Kujawa, Claude St. Aubin and Lovern Kindzierski.

Mandi Kujawa and Hana Kujawa are a mother-daughter duo based in Banff, Alta. A Slug Story is a graphic novel about a young boy named Marcus who is bullied at school. When Marcus suffers a traumatic brain injury and must stay at the hospital, 

Fred Kelly was inducted to the Giants of the North Canadian cartoonist hall of fame.

Kelly was a writer and artist known for his work with Bell Features, which was published after the Second World War. This work included the creation of the character Mr. Monster. Kelly died in 2005.

This year, 147 titles were submitted for consideration. Books published in the 2020 calendar year were eligible.

This year's jurors include Steven W. Beattie, Claudia Dávila, Jenn Haines, Paul G. Hammond, Brett Lamb, Shauna McCabe, Sylvia Nickerson, Emily Pohl-Weary, Sarah Sawler, Jonathan Valelly and Frank Viva. 

Past Doug Wright Award winners include Hartley Lin, Kate Beaton, Michael DeForge, Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversationCreate account

Already have an account?