Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize doubles award to $50K

The overall prize money has increased to $70K, with the winner taking home $50K and each finalist receiving $5K.
(From left): Novelists Tracey Lindberg, Michael Christie and Christy Ann Conlin will judge the 2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. (Dave Weatherall/Michael Christie/Bruce Dienes)

The purse for the annual Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize has been doubled to $50,000 —  up from the $25,000 prize in previous years. $5,000 will go to each of the four remaining finalists.

The finalists for this year's prize, which is run by the Writers' Trust of Canada, will be announced on Sept. 27, 2017.

The three-person jury for this year's prize consists of authors Michael Christie, Christy Ann Conlin and Tracey Lindberg.

The 2017 winner will be announced at the Writers' Trust awards ceremony in Toronto on Nov. 14, 2017. Six other national literary awards, including the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction and the Journey Prize, will also be presented.

The 2016 prize was won by Yasuko Thanh for her novel Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains.

Other past prize winners include Austin Clarke, Alice Munro, Lawrence Hill, Emma Donoghue and André Alexis. 


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.