Liz Eshkibok-Trudeau: The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline illustrates 'the power of Indigenous dreaming'

Artists, community leaders and advocates are sharing their favourite books by Indigenous writers for Indigenous Book Club Month.
Liz Eshkibok-Trudeau loved reading The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline. (Dancing Cat Books/Submitted by Liz Eshkibok-Trudeau)

June is Indigenous Book Club Month and National Indigenous History Month in Canada. To celebrate, CBC Books is asking Indigenous artists, community leaders and advocates to share their favourite #IndigenousReads.

Ojibwe and Odawa powow dancer and community advocate Liz Eshkibok-Trudeau chose The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline.

"Growing up as a teenager, in Wiikwemkoong Unceded Reserve, I was often asked what I wanted as a Christmas gift and my answer was always books. Being a young Anishinaabe adult, it is so refreshing to finally read a fictional story that I can relate to on different levels.

"The personal and resilient history of each individual character resonates with me on a deeper level because of the similarities to my own personal and ancestral history. The landscape that is described within the book is very close to my home of Wiikwemkoong and living as an urban Anishinaabe University student while being able to read about that familiar landscape and waterways really helped to ease my loneliness for my home territory.

"I think it's extremely powerful and moving to read a book where a group of Indigenous youth and Elders hold the key to saving the world and I am often recommending this book to others. I say Miigwetch (thank you) to the author for giving voice to the power of Indigenous dreaming."

About Liz: Aanii/Boozhoo (Hello and Greetings), My name is Elizabeth Eshkibok–Trudeau and my Anishinaabe name is Banaise Kwe, which translates to Thunderbird Woman. I am a 31-year-old, Ojibwe and Odawa woman from the Wiikwemkoong Unceded Reserve. My parents are Marie Eshkibok and Wilfred Trudeau. I have a six-year-old son, a five-year-old son and one-year-old daughter. I carry a diploma from Cambrian College in Early Childhood Education. While working for the Wikwemikong Board of Education, I was often encouraged from the other teachers to receive a higher education. So I attended Nipissing University and went on to graduate with Honours with a Laurentian University Bachelors of Indigenous Social Work degree. Currently, I am living in Kitchener-Waterloo with my partner and children and I am almost at completion of the Wilfrid Laurier University Master of Social Work (Indigenous Field of Study) degree. My interests include powwow dancing, attending Anishinaabe seasonal ceremonies, beading, reading, sewing, spending time on the land, relearning my Anishinaabe language and spending time with family and friends.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.