CBC Literary Prizes

Scaachi Koul, Graeme Wood and Kyo Maclear to judge 2018 CBC Nonfiction Prize

The winner will receive $6,000 from Canada Council for the Arts, a 10-day writing residency at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity and have their work published on CBC Books.
Judges for the 2018 CBC Nonfiction Prize. From left: Scaachi Koul, Graeme Wood and Kyo Maclear. (Barbora Simkova/Submitted by Graeme Wood/Diaspora Dialogues)

Scaachi Koul, Graeme Wood and Kyo Maclear will judge the 2018 CBC Nonfiction Prize.

The CBC Nonfiction Prize recognizes unpublished Canadian works of nonfiction. The winning author will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, attend a 10-day writing residency at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity and have their story published on CBC Books. Four finalists will win $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts and have their story published on CBC Books.

Koul is a senior culture writer for BuzzFeed and the author of the essay collection One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter. Born and raised in Calgary, she writes candidly about being the child of Indian immigrants in the great white north.

Wood won the 2017 Governor General's Literary Award for nonfiction for his book The Way of the Strangers, in which Wood interviewed supporters, recruiters and sympathizers of ISIS from around the world, including followers from Egypt, Australia, Great Britain and the Philippines. He is a contributing editor to The Atlantic and lecturer in political science at Yale University, and the Edward R. Murrow Press Fellow at the Council on foreign relations. 

Maclear is an essayist, novelist and author of children's books. Her books have been translated into 15 languages and have been nominated for Governor General's Literary Awards and the TD Canadian Children's Literature Award, among others. Her latest book, the memoir Birds Art Life, was a finalist for the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction.

The CBC Nonfiction Prize is now closed. The finalists will be announced in fall 2018. 

The 2017 CBC Nonfiction Prize winner was Becky Blake for Trust Exercise. Other past CBC Literary Prize winners include Michael Winter, Frances Itani and David Bergen.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?