Literary Prizes

Armand Garnet Ruffo, Megan Gail Coles and Hoa Nguyen to judge 2022 CBC Poetry Prize

The prize is accepting submissions until May 31, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. ET. You could win $6,000 from the Canada Council, a writing residency at the Banff Centre and have your work published on CBC Books.

The prize is accepting submissions until May 31, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. ET

From left: Armand Garnet Ruffo, Megan Gail Coles and Hoa Nyugen are the judges for the 2022 CBC Poetry Prize. (Bernard Clark, submitted by Megan Gail Coles, Waylon Hart)

Armand Garnet Ruffo, Megan Gail Coles and Hoa Nguyen will judge the 2022 CBC Poetry Prize.

The CBC Poetry Prize recognizes an original, unpublished poem or collection of poems, up to 600 words in length. There is no minimum word requirement.

The deadline to submit is May 31, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

The winner will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, have the opportunity to attend a two-week writing residency at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity and have their work published on CBC Books.

Four finalists will each receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts and have their work published on CBC Books.

Armand Garnet Ruffo is an Ojibway filmmaker, writer and poet. His most recent poetry collection Treaty #, published in 2019was a finalist for the 2019 Governor General's Literary Award for poetry. His other books include Grey OwlNorval Morrisseau and The Thunderbird Poems. In 2016, he received a lifetime achievement award from the League of Canadian Poets. Ruffo lives in Kingston, Ont., and is a professor of creative writing at Queen's University.

Megan Gail Coles is a poet, playwright and author originally from Savage Cove, N.L. Her debut book of poetry, Satched, was published in 2021. Her other books include SquawkEating Habits of the Chronically Lonesome and the novel Small Game Hunting at the Local Coward Gun Club, which was on the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist and championed by social media creator Alayna Fender on Canada Reads 2020.

Coles is a two-time winner of the BMO Winterset award and is the artistic director of Poverty Cove Theatre Company and executive director of Riddle Fence Publishing in St. John's.

Hoa Nguyen is a poet and educator currently living in Toronto. Born in the Mekong Delta, Vietnam, she was raised and educated in the United States. She has lived in Canada since 2011. She is the author of several books of poetry, including As Long As Trees Last and Violet Energy Ingots, which was a finalist for the 2017 Griffin Poetry Prize.

Her latest book of poetry, A Thousand Times You Lose Your Treasure, was on the shortlist for the 2021 Governor General's Literary Award for poetry and the 2021 National Book Awards. Since 2017, Nguyen has served as associated faculty of the University of Guelph's creative writing MFA program. 

The jury will select the shortlist and winner, after a panel of established writers and editors from across the country help to curate the longlist.

Need a little motivation to get you going? Subscribe to the CBC Poetry Prize newsletter: the form to add your email address is at the bottom of this post. We will send you writing tips, tricks and prompts every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday while the CBC Poetry Prize is open.

Last year's winner was Vancouver poet Lise Gaston for her poem James

The CBC Literary Prizes have been recognizing Canadian writers since 1979.

Past winners include Michael Ondaatje, Lorna Crozier, Alison Pick and Frances Itani.​​

The 2023 CBC Short Story Prize will open in September and the 2023 CBC Nonfiction Prize will open in January 2023.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now