Jury announced for 2017 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction

Three journalists, Susan Harada, Arno Kopecky and Siobhan Roberts, will judge the $60,000 prize for 2017.

Susan Harada, Siobhan Roberts and Arno Kopecky will judge the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction, one of the country's biggest nonfiction prizes.

The annual $60,000 award celebrates the best in Canadian literary nonfiction. The 2016 winner was reporter Deborah Campbell for A Disappearance in Damascus.

All three judges this year come from journalism backgrounds.

Harada is the head of Carleton University's journalism program and has worked at CBC, contributed to The Walrus and

Kopecky is an author and environmental journalist from Vancouver. His sophomore book The Oil Man and the Sea won the 2014 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Nonfiction and was shortlisted for the Governor General's Literary Award.

Roberts is a science writer based in Toronto who contributes to The New Yorker's "Elements" blog. Her books include King of Infinite Space, which won the 2009 Euler Book Prize, and Genius at Play.

Finalists of the 2017 prize will be announced on Sept. 20, 2017. The winner will be announced on Nov. 14, 2017.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?