Jeff Lemire, Jillian Tamaki among Canadian comic book creators nominated for 2018 Eisner Awards

The Eisner Awards, widely considered the "Oscars" of comic book awards, have revealed the writers, artists and colourists nominated across their 31 categories.
Canadian comic creators (from left) Jeff Lemire, Isabelle Arsenault and Jillian Tamaki are nominated for Eisner Awards. (Cole Burston/Canadian Press/Cindy Boyce/Reynard Li)

The Eisner Awards, widely considered the "Oscars" of comic book awards, have revealed the writers, artists and colourists nominated across 31 categories.

Canadian creators appear in several shortlists, including best writer nominee Jeff Lemire who is recognized for his work on the Dark Horse series Black Hammer and Image Comics series Descender. Lemire is also nominated for best continuing series alongside his Black Hammer collaborators, Dean Ormston and David Rubín, and best new series for Royal City.

Lemire's fellow Canadians in the best new series category include Steve Skroce for Maestros and artist Tyler Jenkins for Grass Kings, written by American Matt Kindt.

Louis Undercovercreated by the Canadian team of writer Fanny Britt, artist Isabelle Arsenault and translators Christelle Morelli and Susan Ouriou, received a nomination for best publication for teens (13-17). Arsenault picked up an additional two nominations for the book for best lettering and best penciller/inker.

Toronto's Ramón K. Perez also received two nominations for his artwork in Jane, a reimagining of Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre by French writer Aline Brosh McKenna. Perez is nominated for best penciller/inker and is shortlisted with Brosh McKenna under the best publication for teens (13-17) category.

Hamilton, Ont.'s Jesse Jacobs was nominated in the best graphic album — new category for his book Crawl Spacea vibrant tale of innocence lost when teens run amok in a peaceful other-world.

Toronto-based creators Jillian Tamaki and Michael DeForge are both shortlisted for best graphic album — reprint for their books Boundless and Sticks Angelica, Folk Herorespectively.

In the best single issue/one-shot category, Toronto cartoonist Hartley Lin, who writes under the pseudonym Ethan Rilly, is nominated for Pope Hats #5.

Artist Mike Walsh of Hamilton picked up a nod for his work in Marvel's Hawkeye, written by Kelly Thompson and co-drawn by Leonardo Romero. The team is nominated in the best continuing series category.

Ontario-raised artist Scott Chantler is nominated for his work in Ethel Byrne, a short story by Cecil Castelluci, which was published in Mine: A Celebration of Liberty and Freedom for All Benefiting Parenthood. They are on the best short story shortlist.

Winners are chosen by an online vote conducted by professionals in the comic industry. The results will be revealed on July 20, 2018 at Comic-Con in San Diego.

Read about all the nominees on the Eisner Awards website here.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?