Jane van Koeverden

Jane van Koeverden is an associate producer with CBC Books.

Latest from Jane van Koeverden

Carol Rose GoldenEagle on the sinister things you learn while writing a thriller

Bone Black, Carol Rose GoldenEagle's first thriller, is about an Indigenous woman named Wren who seeks justice in the name of her missing sister.

Michael Christie's Greenwood wins best novel at Arthur Ellis Awards for Canadian crime writing

The B.C.-based writer's futuristic tale of environmental destruction and family secrets will receive $1,000.

Griffin Poetry Prize winner Kaie Kellough shares 5 books that inspired him

Kaie Kellough's third poetry collection Magnetic Equator won the $65,000 Griffin Poetry Prize.

Seth, Téa Mutonji & Zalika Reid-Benta among finalists for $20K Trillium Book Award for Ontario books

A graphic novel by Seth and debut short fiction collections by Téa Mutonji and Zalika Reid-Benta are up for a prize that celebrates Ontario writing.

Un lien familial by Nadine Bismuth, defended by France D'Amour, wins Combat des livres 2020

Singer-songwriter France D'Amour, representing Quebec, is the 2020 winner after Ontario's champion Dominique Demers was eliminated by public vote.

Chantal Gibson, Heather Birrell, Roxanna Bennett & Charlie C Petch winners of top Canadian poetry prizes

The annual League of Canadian Poets Awards recognize the best in Canadian poetry. Each of the winning poets will receive $2,000.

Cole Pauls wrote an action-packed comic to help preserve Indigenous language

Two Earth Protectors are charged with saving the planet from evil pioneers and cyborg sasquatches in Dakwäkãda Warriors. The comic, which incorporates a blend of English and Southern Tutchone, serves as an allegory for colonialism.

Laisha Rosnau's poetry collection Our Familiar Hunger wins $25K Kobzar Book Award

The Kobzar Book Award is presented biennially to an outstanding book about the Ukrainian Canadian experience.

Alix Ohlin, Steven Price, Ivan Coyote, Yasuko Thanh among BC and Yukon Book Prize nominees

The BC and Yukon Book Prizes have announced the shortlists for eight awards, which each come with $3,000.

Lady Gaga is publishing an anthology of inspirational stories by youth

Coming out in September 2020, Channel Kindness is a collection of personal stories that illustrate the power of kindness.

Billy-Ray Belcourt, Samra Habib, Ness Lee, Vivek Shraya, Mariko Tamaki among Lambda Literary Awards finalists

The Lambda Literary Awards annually celebrate the best in LGBTQ literature. There are 14 Canadian books nominated across 24 categories.

Toronto poet M. NourbeSe Philip awarded $66K PEN/Nabokov Award for International Literature

The playwright, fiction writer and essayist was recognized by PEN America for her four decades of merging "vital formal experimentation and considerations of race, gender, colonialism and African Diasporic identity."

Book about dark side of tech among finalists for $15K Lionel Gelber Prize

The Lionel Gelber Prize is awarded to the world's best nonfiction book on foreign affairs. The winner will be announced on March 30.

2020 Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee Jann Arden releasing new memoir

Jann Arden's new memoir, If I Knew Then, is account of the surprises and screw-ups that make up the singer-songwriter's 50s. It will be available in Oct. 2020.

New Carol Shields Prize for Fiction will award $150K to a woman or non-binary writer

To be launched in 2022, the prize will be open to writers in Canada and the U.S.