Books

How to tune into the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize

You can watch the gala online, on CBC, on Gem or listen to the ceremony on CBC Radio One.
The winner of the $100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize will be announced on Nov. 18, 2019. (CBC)

The 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize gala, hosted by Jann Arden, will be broadcast live on CBC television, radio and online on Nov. 18, 2019.

Watch on television: CBC at 9:00 p.m. local time (11:30 p.m. AT/12:00 a.m. NT).

Livestream: CBCBooks.caGem, YouTube or Facebook at 9:00 p.m. ET.

Listen: Find your CBC Radio One frequency or listen online at 9:00 p.m. local time (10:00 p.m. AT/10:30 p.m. NT).

The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $100,000 to the year's best work of Canadian fiction.

The hour-long show features all the shortlisted books, revealing the winner at the end.

Here is the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist:

Esi Edugyan won the 2018 prize for Washington Black.

Other past Giller Prize winners include Rohinton Mistry for A Fine BalanceMargaret Atwood for Alias GraceMordecai Richler for Barney's VersionAlice Munro for RunawayAndré Alexis for Fifteen Dogs and Madeleine Thien for Do Not Say We Have Nothing.

Comments

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.