Eden Robinson's Trickster Drift shortlisted for 2019 Sunburst Award for Canadian fantasy writing

The prize annually awards $1,000 to each of their adult fiction and YA fiction category winners. The winners will be announced in fall 2019.
Trickster Drift is the second book in Eden Robinson's Trickster trilogy. (Laughing Red Works, Knopf Canada)

Eden Robinson's novel Trickster Drift is among the finalists of the 2019 Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic.

The fantasy writing prize annually awards $1,000 to each of their adult fiction and YA fiction category winners.

Trickster Drift is the second in Robinson's trilogy, which follows a teenage boy's discovery that his father is a mischievous supernatural being known as a trickster.

"The down-to-earth prose of Trickster Drift by Eden Robinson plunges readers into the fully realized story of a young boy mired in a milieu of addictions, magic and family, battling to make something of himself," said the award in a press release.

"Humorous and filled with memorable characters with entangled relationships to each other and to their world, this novel considers to what extent a person can remake himself and how much he is influenced by his universe and the people in it."

A television adaptation of the trickster series is coming to CBC television in 2020.

The first novel in the series, Son of a Tricksterwas a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

The full adult fiction shortlist includes:

The full young adult fiction shortlist includes:

  • Not Even Bones by Rebecca Schaeffer
  • Feeder by Patrick Weekes
  • Tess of the Road by Rachel Hartman
  • Black Chuck by Regan McDonell
  • Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell

The jury for adult and young adult fiction includes writers Greg Bechtel, Susan Forest, Kari Maaren and Susan Reynolds.

The 2019 Sunburst Awards also have a short story category, which comes with a $500 prize. The finalists are:

  • The Glow-In-The-Dark Girls by Senaa Ahmad, published in Strange Horizons
  • Domestic Violence by Madeline Ashby, published in Slate
  • Candied Sweets, Cornbread, and Black-Eyed Peas by Malon Edwards, published in Sword and Sonnet
  • Meat And Salt And Sparks by Rich Larson, published on
  • The Time Traveler's Husband by A.C. Wise, published in Shimmerzine

The short story prize will be judged by YA fantasy writer S.M. Beiko, playwright, horror author and CBC public relations senior specialist David Demchuk and horror writer and film critic Gemma Files.

The winners will be announced in the fall of 2019.



To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.