Books·CBC Literary Prizes

Eden Robinson, Kevin Hardcastle and Heather O'Neill to judge 2018 CBC Short Story Prize

The winner will receive $6,000, a 10-day writing residency and will have their work published on CBC Books.
From left: Eden Robinson, Kevin Hardcastle and Heather O'Neill. They will judge the 2018 CBC Short Story Prize. (Red Works Studios/Katrina Afonso/Julia C. Vona)

Eden Robinson, Kevin Hardcastle and Heather O'Neill make up the jury for the 2018 CBC Short Story Prize.

The CBC Short Story Prize recognizes unpublished Canadian works of short fiction. The winning author will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, attend a 10-day writing residency at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity and have their story published on CBC Books. Four finalists will win $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts and have their story published on CBC Books.

Eden Robinson is a Haisla/Heiltsuk author who grew up in Haisla, B.C. Monkey Beach, her first novel, was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and the Governor General's Literary Award in 2000 and won the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. Her latest novel, Son of a Trickster, is currently a finalist for the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Kevin Hardcastle was a finalist for the 2012 Writers' Trust Journey Prize and his debut short story collection, Debris, won the Trillium Book Award and the ReLit Award for short fiction. His latest book is the novel In the Cage and he is originally from Simcoe, Ont. He was named one of CBC Books' 17 writers to watch in 2017.

Heather O'Neill's debut novel, Lullabies for Little Criminals, was a finalist for a Governor General's Literary Award and won Canada Reads 2007. The Montreal-based writer was the first back-to-back finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize: her novel The Girl Who Was Saturday Night was a finalist in 2014 and her short story collection Daydreams of Angels was a finalist in 2015. Her latest book is the novel The Lonely Hearts Hotel.

The 2017 CBC Short Story Prize winner was Alix Hawley for "Witching." Other past winners include Michael Winter, Camilla Gibb and David Bergen.