David Johnston, Elizabeth Hay, Darrel J. McLeod, Terese Marie Mailhot make 2019 RBC Taylor Prize longlist

There are 10 books longlisted for the $30,000 prize, which celebrates the best Canadian nonfiction of the year.
(From left): Former Governor General David Johnston, Elizabeth Hay, Darrel J. McLeod and Terese Marie Mailhot are on the 2019 RBC Taylor Prize longlist. (RBC Taylor Prize)

Ten books make up the longlist of the 2019 RBC Taylor Prize, an annual $30,000 literary award that celebrates the best Canadian nonfiction of the year.

Former Governor General David Johnston is on the list for Trust: Twenty Ways to Build a Better Country, which is billed as a guide for all Canadians on how to strengthen a democratic society.

Johnston's joined on the longlist by author Elizabeth Hay, winner of the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Nonfiction Prize for memoir All Things Consoled, as well as the winner of the Governor General's Literary Award for nonfictionDarrel J. McLeod for his memoir Mamaskatch.

Terese Marie Mailhot is also on the longlist for her critically acclaimed memoir Heart Berries. The book is about Mailhot's coming of age on Seabird Island in British Columbia.

The complete longlist is:

The jury, comprised of writers Camilla Gibb, Roy MacGregor and former chief justice Beverley McLachlin, read over 100 books to create the longlist.

The shortlist will be revealed on Jan. 9, 2019, followed by the winner on March 4, 2019.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Account Holder

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?