David Chariandy, Eden Robinson and Michael Redhill among authors longlisted for 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize

12 books are vying for the $100,000 prize. The shortlist will be revealed on Oct. 2, 2017.
David Chariandy, Eden Robinson and Michael Redhill are three of the 12 authors longlisted for the $100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize. (Joy van Tiedemann/Chris Young/McClelland & Stewart)

A mix of new and established writers comprise the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist. The $100,000 prize recognizes the best in Canadian fiction.

The complete longlist is:

The 12 titles were chosen from the 112 books submitted by 73 different publisher imprints.

A handful of writers on the longlist have been previously recognized by the Giller Prize: Eden Robinson was shortlisted in 2000 for Monkey Beach, Michael Redhill was shortlisted in 2001 for Martin Sloane, Rachel Cusk was shortlisted in 2015 for Outline and David Chariandy was longlisted in 2007 for his novel Soucouyant.

This is the third time a work translated by Donald Winkler has been nominated. He also translated A Secret Between Us by Daniel Poliquin, which was shortlisted in 2007, and Arvida by Samuel Archibald, which was a finalist in 2015. Boundary by Andrée A. Michaud won the Governor General's Literary Award for French-language fiction in 2014.

Three debuts are on the longlist: The Bone Mother by David Demchuk is published by horror, science fiction and fantasy publisher ChiZine. Zoey Leigh Peterson, who was named a CBC Books Writer to Watch earlier this year, is nominated for her debut Next Year, For Sure. Rounding out the debuts on the longlist is I Am a Truck by Michelle Winters.

The 2017 shortlist will be revealed on Oct. 2, 2017, and the winner will be announced on Nov. 20, 2017 during a gala event in Toronto. The gala will be broadcast on CBC. 

Jack Rabinovitch, who founded the Giller Prize in 1994, died earlier this year at the age of 87. Rabinovitch created the award to honour his wife, literary journalist Doris Giller who died in 1993, and to provide a prominent platform on which to recognize excellence in Canadian fiction.

The Giller Prize initially endowed a cash prize of $25,000, which was the largest purse for literature in the country. In 2005, the award teamed up with Scotiabank and the prize grew to $40,000 for the winner and $5,000 for each of the finalists. In 2014, the prize increased to $100,000 for the winner and $10,000 for the remaining finalists.

Past winners of the Giller Prize include Rohinton Mistry for A Fine Balance, Margaret Atwood for Alias Grace, Mordecai Richler for Barney's Version, Alice Munro for Runaway and André Alexis for Fifteen Dogs.

Last year's winner was Madeleine Thien for her novel Do Not Say We Have Nothing.

'The 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize will air on Mon. Nov. 20, on CBC at 8 p.m. (12 AT/12:30 NT), CBC Radio One at 8 p.m. (9 AT/9:30 NT) and will be livestreamed at

— With files from the Canadian Press


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?