David Bergen

David Bergen is a Canadian novelist.
David Bergen is a Canadian novelist and short story writer, living in Winnipeg, Man. (Thies Bogner)

David Bergen is a Canadian novelist and short story writer. In 2005, his novel The Time in Between won the Scotiabank Giller Prize. He was subsequently shortlisted for the Giller for The Matter with Morris in 2010 and longlisted for The Retreat in 2008 and Stranger in 2016. Bergen was also a finalist in 2002 for the Governor General's Literary Award for fiction for the book The Case of Lena S. His book The Age of Hope was defended by Ron MacLean on Canada Reads in 2013. He lives in Winnipeg, Man.

Bergen was the 2018 recipient of the Matt Cohen Award, which is given to a writer who has dedicated their professional career to writing, in celebration of their entire body of work. 

From the Matt Cohen Award jury: "In novel after novel, David Bergen has explored some of the most important issues of his time, from such internal questions as what duties children owe their parents – to the eternal ones, such as what does a society owe its citizens."

Bergen's latest book, the short story collection Here the Dark, is on the 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlistHere the Dark includes the story that won the 1999 CBC Short Story PrizeHow Can n Men Share a Bottle of Vodka?

Books by David Bergen


Author David Bergen speaks with CBC Manitoba's Marcy Markusa about his Writers' Trust Matt Cohen Award win.
David Bergen, author of "Leaving Tomorrow", answers the Proust Questionnaire
David Bergen on his new novel about a young Guatemalan woman who travels to a dystopian future America to reclaim her stolen daughter.



To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?