Camilla Gibb, Roy MacGregor and Beverley McLachlin to judge $30K RBC Taylor Prize

The RBC Taylor Prize recognizes the best in Canadian literary nonfiction. The winner will be revealed in March of next year.
Meet the 2019 RBC Taylor Prize jury: Camilla Gibb, Roy MacGregor and Beverley McLachlin. (RBC Taylor Prize)

Camilla Gibb, Roy MacGregor and Beverley McLachlin will judge the 2019 RBC Taylor Prize. The $30,000 literary prize, awarded since 2002 and annually since 2004, recognizes the best in Canadian nonfiction.

Gibb is the Toronto-based author of 2005 Scotiabank Giller Prize-shortlisted novel Sweetness in the Belly and memoir This Is Happy, which was shortlisted for the 2016 RBC Taylor Prize. 

MacGregor is an author of fiction and nonfiction. His latest book, Original Highways, documented his travels down 16 of Canada's great rivers. He was named an officer in the Order of Canada in 2005.

McLachlin is a former Chief Justice of Canada and author. Her debut mystery novel, Full Disclosure, was published in 2018.

The 2019 RBC Taylor Prize longlist will be released on Dec. 12, 2018, followed by the shortlist on Jan. 9, 2019. The winner will be announced on Mar. 4, 2019.

The 2018 winner was Tanya Talaga for Seven Fallen Feathers — a nonfiction book that examines the lives of seven Indigenous high school students who died between 2000 and 2011 in Thunder Bay, Ont.

Other past winners include Rose King for Mad Enchantment, Rosemary Sullivan for Stalin's Daughter and Thomas King for The Inconvenient Indian.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.