Best in Canadian culinary books and blogs celebrated with 2017 Taste Canada prizes

There are seven categories for English-language books and writing, with a gold and silver medal prize awarded in each.
Bestselling author and food blogger Angela Liddon won a Taste Canada Award for her second cookbook Oh She Glows Every Day. (Penguin Canada/Sandy Nicholson)

Taste Canada has announced the 2017 winners of its annual culinary writing awards.

Celebrating its 20th year, the Taste Canada Awards recognize the best culinary writing in Canadian cookbooks and food-focused blogs from the past year.

The 2017 edition, held on Oct. 30, 2017, handed out 24 gold and silver prizes from a shortlist of 54 culinary books and food blogs announced in July of this year. 

Oh She Glows food blogger Angela Liddon is a 2017 gold winner in the health and special diet cookbooks category for her sophomore cookbook, Oh She Glows Every Day. The book presents over 100 recipes — including veggie burgers and flourless brownies — based on Liddon's plant-based eating philosophy. 

The Liddon cookbook is on the list of the 150 bestselling Canadian books of the past 10 years and her culinary blog Oh She Glows also won gold in the food blogs: health and special diet category.

There are seven categories for English-language books and writing in 2017, with a gold and silver medal prize awarded in each. The winners of each category were:

For culinary narratives:

  • Gold: Food Artisans of the Okanagan by Jennifer Cockrall-King
  • Silver: Food to Grow by Frankie Flowers and Shannon J. Ross

For general cookbooks:

  • Gold: Araxi by James Walt
  • Silver: Earls The Cookbook by Jim Sutherland

For regional/cultural cookbooks:

  • Gold: Taste of Persia by Naomi Duguid
  • Silver: Hot Thai Kitchen by Pailin ​Chongchitnant 

For single-subject cookbooks:

  • Gold: The Baker in Me by Daphna Rabinovitch 
  • Silver: Bake with Anna Olson by Anna Olson

For health and special diet cookbooks:

For food blog (general):

​For food blog (health and special diet):

Find out about the French language winners here.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?