Bernardine Evaristo and Hilary Mantel among finalists for $52K Women's Prize for Fiction

Now in its 25th year, the £30,000 prize recognizes the year's best novel written by a woman in English.
Bernardine Evaristo and Hilary Mantel are among the finalists for the 2020 Women's Prize for Fiction. (Jennie Scott, Els Zweerink)

Bernardine Evaristo and Hilary Mantel have been shortlisted for this year's Women's Prize for Fiction.

Evaristo and Mantel are contending with their novels Girl, Woman, Other and The Mirror and the Light, respectively.

Now in its 25th year, the £30,000 (approx. $52,382 Cdn) prize recognizes the year's best novel written by a woman in English.

The 2020 finalists were selected by a panel of five judges, chaired by Martha Lane Fox and made up of Scarlett Curtis, Melanie Eusebe, Viv Groskop and Paula Hawkins.

The judges whittled down the 16-book longlist to a shortlist of just six novels.

Evaristo's novel Girl, Woman, Other tells the interconnected stories of 12 characters, many of whom are black British women. Each chapter is dedicated to one character and the set of issues and choices they face in their lives.

The novel was a co-winner, along with The Testaments by Margaret Atwood, for the 2019 Man Booker Prize.

Mantel's historical novel The Mirror and the Light, the final instalment in her Thomas Cromwell trilogy chronicling the life of the minister in the court of King Henry VIII, released in March 2020.

"We are all living in challenging, sad and complex times so incredible stories provide hope, a moment of escape and a point of connection now more than ever," Lane Fox said, in a release.

"Choosing the shortlist was tough – we went slowly and carefully and passions ran high – just as you would want in such a process. But we are all so proud of these books – all readers will find solace if they pick one up."

There are no Canadians on the shortlist this year.

The full shortlist below.

The shortlist was announced as a special online event on the Women's Prize for Fiction through social media by Lane Fox.

The winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction will be announced on Sept. 9, 2020. The announcement was postponed in light of the COVID-19

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?