Announcing the 2016 CBC Poetry Prize shortlist

Read the poems shortlisted for the 2016 CBC Poetry Prize. The winner will be announced on November 16, 2016.
The shortlisted writers for the CBC Poetry Prize, from left to right: Michael Fraser, Adam Dickinson, Andréa Ledding, Ross Belot and Selina Boan.

The results are in and the 2016 CBC Poetry Prize longlist has been whittled down to five finalists.

The 2016 CBC Poetry Prize shortlist is:

The shortlist was selected by a jury consisting of Roo Borson, George Elliott Clarke and Erín Moure.

The grand prize winner will be announced on Nov. 16. The winner will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, publication in Air Canada enRoute magazine and a 10-day writing residency at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

The remaining finalists will each receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts.

To check out the shortlist for the French competition, visit the Prix de poésie Radio-Canada 2016.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?