Ann Y. K. Choi, Mireille Silcoff and Robert Wiersema to judge 2018 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

The $50,000 prize recognizes the best in Canadian literary fiction. The shortlist will be announced on Sept. 26, 2018.
Ann Y. K. Choi, Mireille Silcoff and Robert Wiersema comprise the jury for the 2018 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. (Submitted by the Writers' Trust of Canada)

Ann Y. K. Choi, Mireille Silcoff and Robert Wiersema will judge the 2018 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.

The $50,000 prize, which has been awarded annually since 1997, recognizes the best in Canadian literary fiction. 

Choi is the author of the novel Kay's Lucky Coin Variety, which was a finalist for the Toronto Book Award in 2016. 

  Silcoff's debut short story collection,  Chez l'Arabe, was shortlisted for Danuta Gleed Literary Award and Vine Award for Canadian Jewish Literature. Her writing has also appeared in the National Post and the New York Times.
  Wiersema is a literary critic and professor of creative writing at Vancouver Island University. His books include the he short story collection  Seven Crow Stories, the Bruce Springsteen biography  Walk Like a Man and the novels  Before I Wake and  Black Feathers.

The shortlist will be announced on Sept. 26, 2018.​

The 2017 winner was David Chariandy for his novel, Brother. Other past winners include André Alexis for Fifteen DogsMiriam Toews for All My Puny SorrowsPatrick deWitt for The Sisters Brothers and Emma Donoghue for Room.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?