Alootook Ipellie, Fiona Smyth are the 2019 inductees to Canadian cartooning hall of fame

Alootook Ipellie is an Inuit artist celebrated for his satirical comics on Inuit life in Canada and Fiona Smyth is a Toronto creator known for her groundbreaking comics on female sexuality.

The nominees for the 2019 Doug Wright Awards for Canadian cartooning were also revealed

Alootook Ipellie, Fiona Smyth are the 2019 inductees to the Giants of the North hall of fame for Canadian cartoonists. (Doug Wright Awards)

Inuit artist Alootook Ipellie and Toronto comic creator Fiona Smyth will be inducted into the Giants of the North Hall of Fame at the annual Doug Wright Awards on May 11.

Ipellie, who died in 2007, was a well-known artist whose work appeared in galleries throughout Canada and Europe. His work included the comic strip Nuna and Vut, which ran in Nunatsiaq News for three years and often satirized the experience of Inuit men and women in Canada.

His book Arctic Dreams and Nightmares collects 20 short stories with ink drawings.

Smyth has been creating comics in Toronto for over 30 years. Her groundbreaking strips on female sexuality have appeared in self-published zines and in publications like Exclaim! and Vice.

Most recently, Smyth published a graphic novel collecting 30 years of her work called SomnambulanceThe book is currently on the shortlist for the 2019 Doug Wright Award for best book.

The shortlist for the 2019 Doug Wright Award for best book includes:

In addition to the hall of fame and best book award, the Doug Wright Awards also present the Doug Wright Spotlight Award to a Canadian cartoonist deserving of wider recognition and the Pigskin Peters Award to a Canadian avant-garde comic.

The shortlist for the 2019 Doug Wright Spotlight Award includes:

  • 100 Days in Uranium City by Ariane Dénommé
  • Woman World by Aminder Dhaliwal
  • Dark Angels of Darkness by Al Gofa
  • Stay and You Don't Have To be Afraid of Me by Victor Martins
  • All We Have Left Is This by Sylvia Nickerson
  • Our Wretched Town Hall by Eric Kostiuk Williams

The shortlist for the 2019 Pigskin Peters Award includes:

  • Eggshell 2 by William Dereume
  • Winter's Cosmos by Michael Comeau
  • Promising Jupiter by Ron Hotz
  • 310, 310 by Mushbuh
  • Retomber by Xiaoxiao Li

The winners of the three Doug Wright Awards will be announced at the Toronto Comic Arts Festival on May 11, alongside the hall of fame induction.

The judges of this year's prizes are Rebecca Roher, Rotem Diamant, Joe Ollmann and Dalton Sharp.



To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.