Alix Ohlin, Steven Price, Ivan Coyote, Yasuko Thanh among BC and Yukon Book Prize nominees

The BC and Yukon Book Prizes have announced the shortlists for eight awards, which each come with $3,000.
(From left to right): Alix Ohlin, Steven Price, Ivan Coyote and Yasuko Thanh are nominated for 2020 BC and Yukon Book Prizes. (Emily Cooper, Chad Hipolito, Emily Cooper,

Alix Ohlin's Dual Citizens, Steven Price's Lampedusa, Ivan Coyote's Rebent Sinner and Yasuko Thanh's Mistakes to Run With are all finalists for 2020 BC and Yukon Book Prizes.

There are eight categories, recognizing the work of British Columbia and Yukon writers and artists across genres including fiction, nonfiction, picture books and more. Each prize comes with $3,000.

Ohlin and Price are nominated for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, which recognizes the year's "best work of literary fiction." Both were finalists for the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Ohlin's Dual Citizens is a novel about two sisters, bonded in childhood by the neglect of their wayward mother. One becomes a film and television editor in the U.S., while the other, a piano prodigy, moves to an isolated Quebec town and creates a wolf sanctuary.

Price's Lampedusa is a historical novel that fictionalizes the final years of Giuseppe Tomasi, a Sicilian prince who authored the literary masterpiece The Leopard.

Coyote is nominated twice for their book Rebent Sinner — for the Jim Deva Prize for Writing That Provokes and the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize. Rebent Sinner collects stories from 30 years of Coyote's life, sharing the joys and hardships of living beyond the gender binary.

Thanh's memoir Mistakes to Run With is also nominated for the Jim Deva Prize for Writing That Provokes. Her book recounts her turbulent childhood and teenage years in Victoria, B.C., a star student who ran away from home, lived on the street and made her living as a sex worker. Thanh won the 2016 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize for her debut novel Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains.

Here are all the BC and Yukon Book prize finalists:

Jim Deva Prize for Writing That Provokes (for a book that "challenges and provokes idea"):

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize (for the "best work of literary fiction"):

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize (for the "best original non-fiction literary work"):

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize (for the book that "contributes to the enjoyment and understanding of B.C.")

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize (for the "best work of poetry"):

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize (for the "best illustrated book written for children"):

Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize (for the "best non-illustrated book written for children"):

Bill Duthie Booksellers' Choice Award (for the "best book in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production and content"):

  • Cedar and Salt by DL Acken and Emily Lycopolus
  • Voices from the Skeena by Robert Budd and Roy Henry Vickers
  • Vancouver After Dark by Aaron Chapman
  • Indigenous Relations by Bob Joseph
  • I Saw Three Ships by Bill Richardson

The winners will be announced on Sept. 19, 2020 in Vancouver.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversationCreate account

Already have an account?