38 books shortlisted for 2020 ReLit Awards

The ReLit Awards honour the best Canadian books published by independent presses. The winners will be announced on Friday, April 30.

The ReLit Awards honour the best Canadian books published by independent presses

The finalists for the novel category for the 2020 ReLit Awards. (ReLit Awards)

Thirty-seven books have been shortlisted for the 2020 ReLit Awards.

The ReLit Awards honour the best Canadian books published by independent presses.

There are three categories: novel, short fiction and poetry. The prize is known for releasing long shortlists.

The prize was first founded in 2000 by Newfoundland filmmaker and author Kenneth J. Harvey. The year 2017 marked the last year the prizes were previously awarded.

The ReLit Awards are now being managed by Harvey's daughter, Katherine Alexandra Harvey. 

Having been on hiatus since 2017, the awards are celebrating four years of awards in the month of April.

Each week, the shortlists for a particular year will be announced on Monday, and the winners for that year will be announced on Friday.

Winners receive the ReLit Ring, which consists of four dials that are inscribed with the alphabet. However, Harvey says financial donations are needed to ensure this tradition continues.

The 2018, 2019 and 2021 winners have been already announced.

This week, the prize focuses on the year 2020.

The finalists in the novel category are:

The finalists in the short fiction category are:

  • Use Your Imagination! by Kris Bertin
  • Lost Boys by Darci Bysouth
  • Moccasin Square Gardens by Richard Van Camp
  • A Dark House and Other Stories by Ian Colford
  • Dig by Terry Doyle
  • Dead Flowers by Alexander Laidlaw
  • Swallows Playing Chicken by David Menear
  • Cracker Jacks for Misfits by Christine Ottoni
  • Meteorites by Julie Paul
  • Half-Sisters by Ryan Turner
  • Send More Tourists… the Last Ones Were Delicious by Tracey Waddleton

The finalists in the poetry category are:

The 2020 winners will be announced on Friday, April 30, 2021.

Past winners include Bill Gaston, Souvankham Thammavongsa, Lisa Moore, Ivan Coyote, Megan Gail Coles and Suzette Mayr.

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

A variety of newsletters you'll love, delivered straight to you.

Sign up now


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?