28 writers make the 2017 CBC Short Story Prize longlist

The winner will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, publication in Air Canada enRoute magazine and a 10-day writing residency at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

Alix Hawley, who won the First Novel Award in 2015, and Todd Babiak, a former finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour, are among the 28 writers longlisted for the 2017 CBC Short Story Prize.

Also on the list are Jane Eaton Hamilton, who previously won the award in 2003 and 2014 and two former CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize winners, Carrie Mac and Patti-Kay Hamilton.

The complete longlist is:

  • "Sweetgrass Spirits" by Corri Arnold-Daniels (Ontario)
  • "Duck" by Todd Babiak (Alberta)
  • "Those Who Have Not Seen and Still Believe" by Sheri Benning (Saskatchewan)
  • "The Seismologist" by Sarah Christina Brown (Quebec)
  • "Emily and Me" by Trevor Corkum (Ontario)
  • "Mime" by Anita Daher (Manitoba)
  • "I've Got God on Speed Dial" by Jane Eaton Hamilton (British Columbia)
  • "Stampeded" by Patti-Kay Hamilton (Northwest Territories)
  • "From Sand" by Nicole Harber (Ontario)
  • "Can You Hear Me Now?" by Alix Hawley (British Columbia)
  • "Witching" by Alix Hawley (British Columbia)
  • "The Peninsula of Happiness" by Kasia Juno (Quebec)
  • "The Buick" by Madeline Kerr (Ontario)
  • "The Looking at the Sea" by Shoilee Khan (Ontario)
  • "Kraken" by Sang Kim (Ontario)
  • "The Third Bad Thing" by Carrie Mac (British Columbia)
  • "Their Dirty Little Lair" by Elaine McCluskey (Nova Scotia)
  • "Bullet-Proof" by Una McDonnell (Quebec)
  • "This Is How He Grieves You" by Tom McMillan (Alberta)
  • "The Renters" by Lisa Metrikin (Ontario)
  • "Everyone Has Come" by Jasmina Odor (Alberta)
  • "In the Blood" by James Patterson (Manitoba)
  • "The Duolect" by Krzysztof Pelc (Quebec)
  • "The Bering Strait" by Gisela Peters (Ontario)
  • "Strata" by Jasmine Sealy (British Columbia)
  • "Cabot Trail" by Alison Stevenson (Ontario)
  • "Density" by Jacquelyn Taylor (Alberta)
  • "Warrior" by Meg Todd (British Columbia)
  • "Submarine" by Dania Tomlinson (British Columbia)

The winner of the CBC Short Story Prize will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, publication in Air Canada enRoute magazine, and a 10-day writing residency at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

Five finalists will be selected by the jury, which is comprised of Jen Sookfong Lee, Shyam Selvadurai and Marina Endicott. The shortlist will be announced on April 12.

The longlist was selected by a team of readers including Karim Alrawi, Kris Bertin, Jon Chan Simpson, Ann Y.K. Choi, Joan Crate, John Goldbach, Sarah Mian, Nick Mount, Chelsea Rooney, Adam Lewis Schroeder, Iman Verjee and Jia Qing Wilson-Yang.

To see the longlist for the French competition, go to the Prix de la nouvelle Radio-Canada.

David Huebert won the CBC Short Story Prize in 2016 for "Enigma." The 2018 competition will be open in September.

The CBC Poetry Prize is now open. The deadline to submit your original, unpublished poetry is May 31, 2017. You can receive support and inspiration three times a week by subscribing to our poetry writing tips newsletter. 


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Become a CBC Member

Join the conversation  Create account

Already have an account?