12 writers make 2018 longlist for $10K Journey Prize for short fiction

The annual prize recognizes emerging writers for the best short story published in a literary magazine.
Greg Brown, Iryn Tushabe, Liz Harmer and Philip Huynh are four of the writers longlisted for the 2018 Journey Prize (Denisa Kraus/Submitted by McClelland & Stewart/Journey Prize/Scott W. Nichols)

Twelve writers are longlisted for 13 stories for the 2018 Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize. The $10,000 annual prize recognizes a short story or excerpt from a novel published in a literary magazine.

Nanaimo, B.C.-based writer Greg Brown finds himself on the 2018 longlist twice, along with other emerging names such as Richmond, B.C.-based lawyer and short fiction writer Philip Huynh, Saskatchewan-based independent journalist and writer Iryn Tushabe and Toronto-based writer, essayist and novelist Liz Harmer.

The 2018 jury consists of Sharon Bala (recipient of the 2017 The Writers' Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize author of Canada Reads 2018 finalist novel The Boat People), Kerry Clare (author of the novel Mitzi Bytes) and Zoey Leigh Peterson (author of novel Next Year, For Sure, longlisted for the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize).

The longlisted stories are:

  • Mute by Shashi Bhat (The Dalhousie Review)
  • Bear by Greg Brown (Pulp Literature)
  • Love by Greg Brown (Pulp Literature)
  • Tracks by Alicia Elliott (The New Quarterly)
  • Never Prosper by Liz Harmer (The New Quarterly)
  • The Forbidden Purple City by Philip Huynh (EVENT)
  • Before He Left by Jason Jobin (The Malahat Review)
  • Barcelona by Aviva Dale Martin (PRISM international)
  • Castaways by Rowan McCandless (Prairie Fire)
  • Desperada by Sofia Mostaghimi  (This Magazine)
  • Two Sex Addicts Fall in Love by Jess Taylor (This Magazine)
  • A Separation by Iryn Tushabe (CVC Anthology Series)
  • Resurfacing by Carly Vandergriendt (CVC Anthology Series)

The shortlist will be announced on Sept. 12, 2018. The winner will be announced on Nov. 7, 2018, in Toronto.

Past winners include Colette Langlois, Yann Martel, Alissa York and Yasuko Thanh. 


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.