CBC Digital Archives CBC butterfly logo

CBC Archives has a new look: Please go to cbc.ca/archives to access the new site.

The page you are looking at will not be updated.

Margaret Laurence’s Manawaka series

The Story

In 1962, Laurence separates from her husband. Her decision is based on the difficulties she has with balancing roles as wife, mother and writer. Between 1963 and 1966, Laurence writes four novels. During this period Laurence begins her celebrated Manawaka series with The Stone Angel and A Jest of God. The Stone Angel is hailed a major work of Canadian literature and the most stunning achievement of Laurence's career.  It is the story of Hagar, an elderly woman who must negotiate the choices of her past in order to find peace. In A Jest of God Laurence explores a young woman's difficult journey to selfhood. A Jest of God wins the Governor General's Award in 1966.

Broadcast Medium: Television
Program: Take 30
Broadcast Date: Sept. 20, 1966
Interviewer: Adrienne Clarkson
Guest: Margaret Laurence
Duration: 5:19

Did You know?

• The real stone angel resides in Neepawa's Riverside Cemetery. In addition to being Laurence's final resting place, Riverside Cemetery is located on what was once the first homestead of Neepawa.


Margaret Laurence: Canada's Divine Writer more