CBC Digital Archives CBC butterfly logo

CBC Archives has a new look: Please go to cbc.ca/archives to access the new site.

The page you are looking at will not be updated.

1957: First meeting of the Pugwash Conference

The Story

July 1957: Scientists from around the world meet in Nova Scotia for the first meeting of the Pugwash Conference today. Philanthropist Cyrus Eaton plays host in his hometown of Pugwash -- a scenic thinker's paradise where scholars can discuss strategies for peace in a nuclear age. In October 1995, Joseph Rotblat, chair of the Pugwash Organization, receives the Nobel Peace Prize. The idea for the conference was born of an antiwar manifesto issued by scientist Albert Einstein and philosopher Bertrand Russell in 1955. They argued scientists played a crucial role in the negotiation of peace. Over the years, the conference grew in influence and reach, playing a significant role in the development of the Non-Proliferation Treaty of 1968 and the Anti-Ballistic Missile Treaty of 1972. These CBC Radio reports examine the importance of Rotblat's award and the Conference's origins.

Medium: Radio
Program: The World At Six
Broadcast Date: Oct. 13, 1995
Guests: Carl Demings, Cyrus Eaton, Gregg Gass
Host: Bernie McNamee, Bob Oxley
Reporter: Chris Hall
Duration: 4:08
Photo: Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs

Did You know?

• Between 1957 and 2002, there have been more than 200 Pugwash conferences held in different locations around the world. More than 10,000 academics, politicians and scientists have participated.

• Invited participants represent themselves only and do not act as delegates on behalf of their governments or institutions.

• Cyrus Eaton was born in Pugwash in 1883 and died in Cleveland, Ohio in 1979. A philanthropist committed to peace, he grew wealthy in the American banking and steel industries.

• "One of the great things I hope to accomplish is to get people of different faiths, different nationalities and different tongues to get together and find they are actually brothers after all." -- Cyrus Eaton.

Also on July 3:
1797: The Law Society of Upper Canada is established in Niagara-on-the-Lake. It is the oldest statutory professional body in North America.
1934: The Bank of Canada Act receives royal assent. The bank starts as a private institution, and in 1938 becomes a Crown corporation reporting to Parliament.
1992: A Quebec jury acquits 34 Mohawks for their part in the 77-day armed standoff at Oka in 1990.



Canada's Nobel Laureates more