Canada: The Story of Us Episodes


How to watch Canada: The Story of Us

Watch all 10 episodes of Canada: The Story of Us on the CBC TV app, plus other ways to watch.

Episode 1: Worlds Collide (pre-1608 – 1759)

Hundreds of Indigenous nations with advanced cultures already live in Canada when French and English colonizers arrive and fight for land claims. Indigenous people suffer as a result of first contact.

Episode 2: Hunting Treasure (1777 - 1793)

A new generation of rebels and entrepreneurs compete for the key to this land’s prosperity – its natural resources – while others fight to protect them. It’s an epic quest for treasure that shapes the country to this day.

Episode 3: War of Independence (1812 - 1813)

Fearless, ingenious, and for the first time – united. The War of 1812 is Canada’s War of Independence. With the British Empire entrenched in a European war, a disparate group of Indigenous, French Canadian, Scottish, African Canadian, and even ex-pat American fighters fight for their new homeland.

Episode 4: Connected (1824 - 1890)

Inventors and entrepreneurs dream of uniting the country using the latest design and technology – and make their fortunes in the process. An extraordinary generation will revolutionize transportation, engineering and communications, making Canada the high-tech superstar of a newly-wired world.

Episode 5: Expansion (1858 - 1899)

In the lead up to Confederation, Canada faces the threat of American expansionism. Determined that Canada will remain independent and free, a generation of risk-takers, gold miners, cowboys and railway builders will rise to the challenge.

Episode 6: Service and Sacrifice (1916 - 1929)

Bravery and sacrifice define our new nation as war erupts across Europe. Canada, as a British Dominion, joins in the fight – a young country seeking to find its place on the world stage. It’s not long before nearly half a million Canadians travel to Europe to serve in the First World War.

Episode 7: Boom / Bust (1919 - 1937)

It’s the dawn of the 20th century, and Canada’s population is exploding. For many Canadians living in urban centres, this growth comes at a cost.

Episode 8: United at War (1939 - 1944)

WWII, a war even more terrible than the last, demands courage, commitment and ingenuity. Canada will meet this challenge head on, giving everything we have, at home and abroad. Canadians come together, working, and fighting, for a common cause. United – at war.

Episode 9: New Identity (1946 - 1970)

Canada experiences a boom-time after the war, but not all are happy with the status quo. They seek to reshape the country and challenge dark legacies of injustice. The circle of Confederation grows and Canada emerges as a complex and cosmopolitan nation on the world stage.

Episode 10: The Canadian Experiment (1976 - 1999)

Canada seeks to navigate the complexities of its diverse population, keeping its borders open to those who have nowhere else to turn while trying to negotiate a new relationship with Indigenous peoples.