Sundays 8pm to 11pm on Radio 2

New Episodes at CBC Music

New Episodes at CBC Music

Need more Strombo Show? Head over to our page on CBC Music for new episodes, playlists and video extras.

CBC Music Past Shows



Bob Rae is Parliamentarian of the Year
November 22, 2011
submit to reddit

Macleans magazine just announced the winners of their Parliamentarian of the Year 2011 awards. The overall winner is Liberal Bob Rae, who the magazine praises for his ability to hold the attention of Parliament when he speaks, and for his tendency to be "Stephen Harper's toughest test each afternoon".

The Lifetime Achievement award went to Jack Layton. Macleans points out that Jack is remembered more often for his personal qualities and campaigning abilities than his parliamentary style and strategy, but that he was "an uncommonly talented - and unusually shrewd - performer inside the house".

Some other winners were John Baird for "best orator", Chris Alexander for "best rookie", and Joe Comartin for "most knowledgeable". The overall winner, Mr. Rae, let our cameras visit his house at Halloween:


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.