Sundays 8pm to 11pm on Radio 2

New Episodes at CBC Music

New Episodes at CBC Music

Need more Strombo Show? Head over to our page on CBC Music for new episodes, playlists and video extras.

CBC Music Past Shows



TIFF Award Winners Are Coming Up On The Show This Season
September 17, 2012
submit to reddit

We were going through the list of award winners at the Toronto International Film Festival today. And we realized we've got a few guests coming up on the show this season, who are connected to the winning films.

In case you missed it, here's a quick roundup of the winners (as chosen by TIFF audiences) and who's going to be in the red chair from those films.

The People's Choice Award went to Silver Linings Playbook, directed by David O. Russell.

The Favourite Non-Fiction Film went to Artifact, a documentary directed by Bartholomew Cubbins. Cubbins is actually a pseudonym used by the actual director Jared Leto, from the band 30 Seconds To Mars. The film is about the making of the band's third album This Is War, and the band's battle against Virgin Records. The band tried to end their contract with Virgin, only to get sued by the record company for $30 million. The suit was eventually settled and the album went on to become one of 30 Seconds To Mars best selling records. Jared Leto will be on the show this season.

Also on the show this season will be Quebec director Xavier Dolan. His third feature film Laurence Anyways won TIFF's Best Canadian Feature Award, which comes with a $30,000 prize. Interestingly enough, the last two winners of this award were both Quebec films - Denis Villeneuve's Incendies (2010) and Philippe Falardeau's Monsieur Lazhar (2011). Both went on to become Canada's nominee (and eventual contender) for best foreign language film at the Academy Awards. Perhaps Xavier Dolan will make it three in a row. He'll be in the red chair.

As well, the FIPRESCI prize for Special Presentations program went to Dans La Maison, directed by Francois Ozon. It's a French film (based on the play The Boy in the Last Row) about a high-school student who writes essays about a friend's family, but they may have a dark purpose. We'll have one of the stars Kristin Scott Thomas in the red chair.

Other winners include:

Favourite Midnight Madness Film - Seven Psychopaths, directed by Martin McDonagh

Best Canadian First Feature - a tie between Antiviral, directed by Brandon Cronenberg and Blackbird, directed by Jason Buxton

Best Canadian Short Film - Keep A Modest Hand, directed by Deco Dawson

FIPRESCI prize for the Discovery Program - Call Girl, directed by Mikael Marcimain

NETPAC Award for best first or second Asian film feature - The Land of Hope, directed by Sion Sono


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.

Submission Policy

Note: The CBC does not necessarily endorse any of the views posted. By submitting your comments, you acknowledge that CBC has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that comments are moderated and published according to our submission guidelines.