John Furlong is among 74 recipients of the Order of Canada. ((Darryl Dyck/The Canadian Press))

John Furlong, who headed the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Organizing Committee, has been appointed to the Order of Canada.

Furlong is among 74 recipients of the order announced Wednesday by Gov. Gen. Michaelle Jean.

"Much like every medal won by our Canadian [Olympic] team, I share this honour with my team mates and all Canadians," Furlong said in a statement Wednesday. "Thank you, Canada, for giving me the chance, with you, to help shape the Canada that now is."

Also in line to receive the honour is actor Michael J. Fox, known for his acting, but also for his recent battles against Parkinson's disease.

A statement from Jean's office says Fox is receiving the honour for his contributions as an advocate for those with Parkinson's disease, and as an actor in film and on television. 

Julie Payette, who was with astronaut Robert Thirsk last summer when the two became the first pair of Canadians to meet in space as she returned to the International Space Station, has also been appointed.

In 1999, Payette became the first Canadian to visit the station.

Three others are being promoted to companions to the Order of Canada, including former Progressive Conservative Finance Minister Michael Wilson.