Also known as Tshwane, Pretoria is located in the Gauteng Province (in the north-eastern part of South Africa) about 50 kilometres north of Johannesburg.

As the home to South African government, Pretoria is the administrative capital of country and hosts several foreign embassies and the University of South Africa.

Population: 2.3 million

Altitude: 1,214 metres

Sightseeing: Church Square is located in the middle of the city and this former marketplace for farmers is considered the cradle of the city. The National Zoological Gardens of South Africa is the largest zoo in the country. The imposing Union Buildings served as the venue for Nelson Mandela's historic inauguration as President in 1994. Freedom Park is a 52-hectare heritage site that offers a panoramic view of the city.

Here's an interesting fact: Located in a sheltered and fertile valley, Pretoria is known for its Jacaranda trees, and when in bloom they make the entire city look blue. The sheer abundance of them has resulted in Pretoria earning the nickname, the Jacaranda City.

Local soccer clubs: Mamelodi Sundowns and Supersport United (Premier League); Pretoria University (First Division).

World Cup climate: Dry season temperatures averaging 20C during the day, and 5C at night.

World Cup stadium: Completed in 1903, Loftus Versfeld Stadium is one of the oldest in South Africa. With a capacity of 50,000 spectators, it has staged a variety of sporting events over the years, including matches at the 1995 Rugby World Cup, the 1996 African Cup of Nations and the 2009 Confederations Cup. It is also the home stadium of two Premier League soccer clubs, Mamelodi Sundowns and SuperSport United, and to one of the country's top rugby teams, the Blue Bulls.

2010 World Cup matches: Serbia vs. Ghana on June 13; South Africa vs. Uruguay on June 16; Cameroon vs. Denmark on June 19; United States vs. Algeria on June 23; Chile vs. Spain on June 25; and one second-round match.