Spanish midfielder Xavi Hernandez was voted Euro 2008's top player. ((Joe Klamar/Getty Images))

Spanish midfielder Xavi Hernandez was named Euro 2008's player of the tournament on Monday after Spain defeated Germany 1-0 in Sunday's final.

"We have chosen Xavi because he epitomizes the Spanish style of play. He was extremely influential in the whole possession, passing and penetrating kind of game that Spain played," said Andy Roxburgh head of UEFA's technical committee.

Hernandez was also one of nine Spanish players named to the 23-man team of the tournament.

There was no place on the team for Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo. The Portuguese winger, considered by many as the best player in the world, was coming off a sensational season for Manchester United in which he scored 43 goals, but he failed to impress at Euro, as Portugal bowed out in the quarter-finals.

The team was selected by a nine-man technical committee, which included former national team coaches such as Gerard Houllier and Roy Hodgson.

Euro 2008 Team of the Tournament

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Iker Casillas (Spain), Edwin van der Sar (Netherlands)

Defenders: Jose Bosingwa (Portugal), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Carlos Marchena (Spain), Pepe (Portugal), Carles Puyol (Spain), Yuri Zhirkov (Russia).

Midfielders: Hamit Altintop (Turkey), Luka Modric (Croatia), Marcos Senna (Spain), Xavi Hernandez (Spain), Konstantin Zyryanov (Russia), Michael Ballack (Germany), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Lukas Podolski (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands).

Forwards: Andrei Arshavin (Russia), Roman Pavlyuchenko (Russia), Fernando Torres (Spain), David Villa (Spain).