Toronto FC captain Jim Brennanwas named to the MLS all-star team on Tuesday. ((Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images))

Toronto FC captain Jim Brennan was named to Major League Soccer's all-star team on Tuesday.

The veteran defender was one of three Canadians added to the roster. Goalkeeper Pat Onstad and midfielder Dwayne De Rosario of the Houston Dynamo will also play in the MLS all-star game on July 24 in Toronto (CBC,, 7 p.m. ET).

The all-star team's starters were announced last week, but coach Steve Nicol of the New England Revolution and MLS commissioner Don Garber added seven more players Tuesday to round out the 18-man roster.

"It's an honour to be chosen to be part of the team by Steve Nicol," said Brennan. "I'm really looking forward to the all-star game, especially since it's being played here in Toronto. Last year I was on the inactive roster so didn't get a chance to really be a part of it.

"It's going to be something I'll always remember and having it here at home makes it that much more special."

Also added were midfielders Pablo Mastroeni and Christian Gomez of the Colorado Rapids and forwards Juan Pablo Angel of the New York Red Bulls and Edson Buddle of the Los Angeles Galaxy.

The MLS all-star team will play West Ham United, which finished 10th last season in the English Premier League and features the likes of Freddy Ljungberg, Dean Ashton and Lucas Neill.

The all-star game will cap off three days of activities around BMO Field that will include musical acts, activities for kids and families and a Canadian Champions League game between Toronto and the Montreal Impact on July 22 (CBC Bold,, 7 p.m. ET).

2008 MLS All-Stars

Goalkeeper: Pat Onstad (Houston Dynamo), Matt Reis* (New England Revolution)

Defenders: Jim Brennan (Toronto FC), Jimmy Conrad* (Kansas City Wizards), Frankie Hejduk* (Columbus Crew), Michael Parkhurst* (New England Revolution)

Midfielders: David Beckham* (Los Angeles Galaxy), Cuauhtemoc Blanco* (Chicago Fire), Dwayne De Rosario (Houston Dynamo), Christian Gomez (Colorado Rapids), Shalrie Joseph* (New England Revolution), Sacha Kljestan* (Chivas USA), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids), Robbie Rogers* (Columbus Crew)

Forwards: Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls), Edson Buddle (Los Angeles Galaxy), Kenny Cooper* (FC Dallas), Landon Donovan* (Los Angeles Galaxy)