The New Zealand All Whites warm up in a training session at North Harbour Stadium in Auckland. (Photo by Sandra Mu/Getty Images) ((Sandra Mu/Getty Images) )

New Zealand head coach Ricki Herbert has named his 23-man roster for the World Cup, including five semi-professionals and two unattached players.

Goalkeepers: James Bannatyne (Team Wellington), Glen Moss (Melbourne Victory), Mark Paston (Wellington Phoenix).

Defenders: Andy Boyens (New York Red Bulls), Tony Lochhead (Wellington Phoenix), David Mulligan (unattached), Ryan Nelsen (Blackburn Rovers), Winston Reid (FC Midtjylland), Ben Sigmund (Wellington Phoenix), Tommy Smith (Ipswich), Ivan Vicelich (Auckland City).

Midfielders: Andy Barron (Team Wellington), Leo Bertos (Wellington Phoenix), Jeremy Brockie (Newcastle Jets), Tim Brown (Wellington Phoenix, vice-captain), Aaron Clapham (Canterbury United), Jeremy Christie (FC Tampa Bay), Simon Elliott (unattached), Michael McGlinchey (Motherwell).

Strikers: Rory Fallon (Plymouth Argyle), Chris Killen (Middlesbrough), Shane Smeltz (Gold Coast United), Chris Wood (West Bromwich Albion).

Captain Nelsen

Nelsen, who captains Blackburn in the English Premier League, will serve as captain of the national team.

All but one of the 18 players from New Zealand's decisive World Cup win against Bahrain will be making the trip to South Africa. Defender Aaron Scott is the odd man out.

"I'm not one to usually have sleepless nights but this has been a very difficult job settling on the final pieces of the jigsaw," said Herbert, who played in the New Zealand squad that qualified for the World Cup in 1982, the only other time the All Whites have played in the tournament.

During the 1982 World Cup in Spain, New Zealand — drawn in a group with Brazil, the Soviet Union and Scotland — lost all three matches, scoring two goals and conceding 12.

New Zealand Football chairman Frank Van Hattum, who was also a member of the last World Cup squad, believes this year's group will exceed the accomplishments of the '82 team.

"This is one of the finest group of players ever selected for a New Zealand team," he said.