FIFA announced Friday its 27-player shortlist for the Golden Ball award to be given to the top playerat the U-20 World Cup.

To be eligible for the award, a player must have been a member of a team that reached the knockout stages of the tournament.

Accredited members of the media will vote on the award and FIFA will announce the winner following Sunday's championship final between Argentina and the Czech Republic in Toronto (CBC, 2:30 p.m. ET).

Players who finish second and third in media balloting will receive the Silver and Bronze Ball awards, respectively.

Past winners of the Golden Ball include Diego Maradona (1979) and Lionel Messi (2005) of Argentina, and Yugoslavia's Robert Prosinecki (1987).

The Czech Republic beat Austria 2-0 in Edmonton on Wednesday to book its place in the final. Argentina downed Chile 3-0 in Toronto on Thursday in the other semifinal.

Complete list of candidates:

Goalkeepers: Christopher Toselli (Chile), Sergio Romero (Argentina).

Defenders: Federico Fazio (Argentina), Gerard Pique (Spain), Hans Martinez (Chile), Luizao (Brazil), Matias Cahais (Argentina), Omar Esparza (Mexico), Sebastian Proedl (Austria).

Midfielders: Arturo Vidal (Chile), Bruno Gama (Portugal), Ever Banega (Argentina), Mathias Cardaccio (Uruguay), Marek Suchy (Czech Republic), Maximiliano Moralez (Argentina), Michael Bradley (United States), Oladapo Olufemi (Nigeria), Sebastian Mwansa (Zambia).

Forwards: Adrian Lopez (Spain), Alexandre Pato (Brazil), Alexis Sanchez (Chile), Dawid Janczyk (Poland), Diego Capel (Spain), Freddy Adu (United States), Giovanni dos Santos (Mexico), Mathias Vidangossy (Chile), Sergio Aguero (Argentina).